Our reviews are based on extensive research and, when possible, hands-on testing. Each time you make a purchase through one of our independently-chosen links, we may earn a commission. Learn more.

TCfeline Cat Food Review

comments-icon 4 Comments on TCfeline Cat Food Review
small mallory photo
Fact checked by  Mallory Crusta
Share Email Pinterest Linkedin Twitter Facebook
TCfeline Raw Cat Food

Kate Barrington / Cats.com

TCfeline is a premix for homemade raw cat food diets produced by the Feline Future Cat Food Company. I purchased two recipes – one with beef liver and one without – then prepared a sample batch to test with my three cats.

We’ve rated TCfeline cat food on ingredient quality, species-appropriateness, recalls, and more. Read our TCfeline cat food review to learn how this brand stacks up.

The Cats.com Standard—Rating TCfeline Cat Food On What Matters

We’ve rated the brand on six key criteria for quality. Here’s how it rates in each of these six crucial areas.

Ratings

  • Species-Appropriateness – 10/10
  • Ingredient Quality – 10/10
  • Product Variety – 5/10
  • Price – 6/10
  • Customer Experience – 8/10
  • Recall History – 10/10

Overall Score: 8.2/10

In total, we give TCfeline cat food a 49 out of 60 rating or an A- grade.

NOTE: Because TCfeline is a raw premix and not prepared food, it’s difficult to make a direct comparison with other brands. These ratings are based on the premix alone.

About TCfeline Cat Food

TCfeline is a powdered premix used in homemade raw cat food diets. The original formula was inspired by a raw cat food recipe developed by Natascha Wille in the late 1990s. After founding the Feline Future Foundation with co-creator Scott Baker, Wille published her recipe on felinefuture.com in 1997 and began selling premade frozen raw cat food in the Vancouver, BC area.

After Wille moved to Salt Spring Island, BC with her 19 cats, the Feline Future Cat Food Company shifted from distributing premade frozen raw cat food to selling raw cat food premix. The original formula contained all the ingredients of the premade food except for the meat, which customers added themselves. The product became incredibly popular and is now sold throughout the world.

Sourcing and Manufacturing

TCfeline raw diet premix is manufactured in both the United States and Canada. In the U.S., it is manufactured by Know Bones Pet Supply, LLC, which purchased rights to the TCfeline name and recipe in 2011. The company continues to work closely with Natascha Wille and Three Gables Farm, the manufacturer of TCfeline in Canada.

The TCfeline premix contains a combination of animal-derived proteins and essential nutrients and is designed to create a complete diet for cats when combined with fresh, raw, boneless meat.

There are slight differences between the U.S. and Canadian versions of the product. The TCfeline website specifies that the dried bovine bone and whey protein isolate are sourced from New Zealand while the gelatin and freeze-dried krill come from Canada. Know Bones Pet Supply, LLC does not specify the sourcing of its ingredients.

Recall History

To our knowledge, TCfeline raw diet premix has never been recalled, but there was a clerical error on several pouches of TCfeline sold in the United States in early 2020.

Some packages from the December 2020 production were mistakenly labeled with a January 2020 expiration date instead of the correct date, January 2021. Know Bones Pet Supply, LLC made an announcement on its website to inform customers of the mistake.

What Kinds of Cat Food Does TCfeline Offer?

TCfeline premix is a fine powder that should be measured by weight rather than volume to ensure proper dosage. Because TCfeline is a raw diet premix and not a prepared product, cat owners have the ability to customize the recipe with a variety of different proteins.

As for the premix itself, there are four recipes to choose from:

  • TCfeline Original
  • TCfeline with Beef Liver
  • TCfeline with Chicken Liver
  • TCfeline Special Formula

The original recipe developed by Natascha Wille was a raw food diet, so most TCfeline premixes are meant to be used with raw meat such as venison, beef, chicken, turkey, fish, pork, or rabbit. The exception is the TCfeline Special Formula which can be used with cooked meat as long as the premix is added after the meat has been cooked and cooled.

What Do Customers Think of TCfeline Cat Food?

Despite having been developed over two decades ago, TCfeline doesn’t appear to have a strong online following. The two recipes available in the Total Cat Store’s Amazon shop have fewer than 100 customer ratings each and the Etsy shop only has about 30 reviews.

Though online reviews for TCfeline premix are limited, the majority are positive. The two products reviewed below have a 4.3 and 4.2 out of 5-star rating, respectively.

Satisfied customers comment that the product makes raw feeding easy and cats seem to like the flavor of the premix itself. Negative reviews are largely concentrated on the price of the product and comments about picky cats not liking the raw food.

Let’s take a look at a few reviews from some of the most popular recipes from TCfeline.

Positive Reviews

“I have been feeding my show cats a raw diet for 3 years, but during the supply chain problems, and during Covid, I was not able to get a lot of the essential additives in the store or on line – even chicken liver was hard to find in the store at times. Now I can be sure their diet has all they need. I have been able to get raw livers again so I buy the recipe that does not include liver, but it is nice to know that if I can’t find liver again I can use the liver recipe of this. The cats eat their food just as well with this in it so there is no taste issue either.” – by CBest Reviewing TCfeline Original Raw Diet Premix on January 11, 2023

“GOOD: This makes a raw homemade diet so easy! I made several batches of ground turkey, ground chicken, and beef chunk meals to freeze. Transitioning my cat to the raw diet from commercial kibble was easy, probably because she is less than a year old, but also probably because the liver additive gives the food a great smell!

NOT SO GOOD: Though convenient, it’s way expensive and I might just buy the individual vitamins next time. Also it took several weeks to get to me.” – by Almighty Reviewer Reviewing TCfeline PLUS Beef Liver Raw Diet Premix on May 26, 2015

Negative Reviews

“I’ve tried different types of raw food, some frozen prepared and others freeze dried. We have five male domestic cats ranging from age 3 months to ten years. I prepared this mix using raw ground turkey and none of our cats, so far, will eat the food. Since the premix was more cost saving than purchasing fresh frozen, I decided to purchase the sample packages. Our indoor cats will not eat this preparation, but the feral cats will clean the plate.”  – by M. Hollins Reviewing TCfeline Original Raw Diet Premix on January 9, 2017

“It arrived very quick. I really wanted to like this food I cook the chicken for them and served it to them. One of my boys liked it and one of them just walked away he didn’t like it at all. But the boy that liked it is diabetic and his sugar went sky high with this completer. I don’t know what it was in the completer but they can’t eat it.”– by Rita Reviewing TCfeline PLUS Beef Liver Raw Diet Premix on June 15, 2022

What Did Our Test Cats Think?

What Did Our Test Cats Think

It was a new experience for both of us, but both of my test cats eagerly devoured the homemade food! Kate Barrington / Cats.com

To test TCfeline, I prepared two batches using raw chicken thighs with the skin and bones removed. I added egg yolk to the TCfeline PLUS beef liver recipe but omitted it from the TCfeline Original recipe. My cats loved both.

Though I’ve tested premade raw food with my cats before, this was their first experience with homemade food. Two of my three cats sampled the food (the third is allergic to chicken) and both dove in with no hesitation. One cat, Munchkin, had some stomach upset later, but I attribute it more to the change of diet than to the product itself.

The whole process to prepare raw homemade food with TCfeline premix took about 15 minutes. Most of that time was consumed by hand-chopping the chicken. If you have a meat grinder available, I can see it taking under 10 minutes to prepare a batch.

TCfeline Cat Food – Top 3 Recipes Reviewed

Product Name Food Type Main Protein Source Calories Price Our Grade
TCfeline Original Raw Diet Premix Premix Pork NA $3.40 per oz A
TCfeline PLUS Beef Liver Raw Diet Premix Premix Pork NA $3.40 per oz A
TCfeline Special Formula Raw Diet Premix Premix Beef NA $3.90 per oz A

#1 TCfeline Original Raw Diet Premix

TCfeline Original Raw Diet Premix

Buy on Amazon

Based on Natascha Wille’s original raw cat food recipe, TCfeline Original premix can be combined with water, raw meat, and raw liver to create a nutritionally complete raw food diet for cats. You can add any type of raw, boneless meat and your cat’s preferred type of fresh liver.

All three of TCfeline’s original premixes can be made with or without raw egg yolks. Egg yolks are rich in monounsaturated fat which supports heart health as well as omega fatty acids for skin, coat, brain, and nervous system health. Adding egg yolks will also increase the recipe’s vitamin content.

TCfeline Original Raw Diet Premix

For my first experience making homemade cat food, I tested TCfeline Raw Diet Premix and EZ Complete Fur Cats Premix. Kate Barrington / Cats.com

Preparing TCfeline requires nothing more than mixing the premix with water (eggs optional) and tossing it together with the raw meat and liver. It can be divided into portions by weight and frozen in individual servings for easy thawing and feeding.

Ingredients

Gelatin (Porcine), MCHA Whole Bone Extract (Bovine), Whey Protein Isolate, Taurine, Dried Krill Powder, Calcium Carbonate, Magnesium Gluconate, Tocopheryl Acid Succinate (Natural Source of Vitamin E), Vitamin A Palmitate, Vitamin D3.

Ingredients We Liked Ingredients We Didn’t Like Common Allergens
Gelatin

MCHA Whole Bone Extract

Whey Protein Isolate

Dried Krill Powder

None Beef

Pork

Guaranteed Analysis

loader
Crude Protein: 46.66%
Crude Fat: 4.9%
Moisture: 6.5%

Dry Matter Basis

loader
Protein: 49.9%
Fat: 5.24%
Carbs: 44.86%

Caloric Weight Basis

loader
Protein: 46.43%
Fat: 11.84%
Carbs: 41.73%

Pros

  • Creates a nutritionally complete raw diet
  • Just add your cat’s favorite raw meat and liver
  • Add eggs for healthy vats and essential vitamins

Cons

  • Not suitable for cats allergic or sensitive to beef
  • Requires the addition of fresh liver

#2 TCfeline PLUS Beef Liver Raw Diet Premix

TCfeline PLUS Beef Liver Raw Diet Premix

Buy on Amazon

This formula is identical to the previous recipe except that it has dried beef liver added. The preparation is exactly the same, you just don’t have to add raw liver along with your raw meat.

In addition to being a supplemental source of protein for cats, liver is incredibly nutrient-dense. It’s rich in vitamin A, which supports healthy vision, as well as vitamin B12, vitamin C, iron, folate, copper, and selenium. This recipe includes beef liver which, though similar in nutritional value to chicken liver, contains a higher concentration of selenium and iron.

TCfeline PLUS Beef Liver Raw Diet Premix

I prepared TCfeline PLUS Beef Liver using raw chicken thigh and included the optional egg yolk. Kate Barrington / Cats.com

If your cat is allergic or sensitive to beef, the TCfeline Original formula might be a better choice because you can add another type of liver. In the United States, you can also purchase TCfeline made with chicken liver (though shortages of freeze-dried chicken liver powder may affect product availability).

Ingredients

Gelatin (Porcine), MCHA Whole Bone Extract (Bovine), Dried Beef Liver, Whey Protein Isolate, Taurine, Dried Krill Powder, Calcium Carbonate, Magnesium Gluconate, Tocopheryl Acid Succinate (Natural Source of Vitamin E), Vitamin A Palmitate, Vitamin D3.

Ingredients We Liked Ingredients We Didn’t Like Common Allergens
Gelatin

MCHA Whole Bone Extract

Dried Beef Liver

Whey Protein Isolate

Dried Krill Powder

None Beef

Pork

Guaranteed Analysis

loader
Crude Protein: 51.2%
Crude Fat: 6.3%
Moisture: 6.5%

Dry Matter Basis

loader
Protein: 54.76%
Fat: 6.74%
Carbs: 38.5%

Caloric Weight Basis

loader
Protein: 49.95%
Fat: 14.93%
Carbs: 35.12%

Pros

  • Creates a nutritionally complete raw diet
  • Just add your cat’s favorite raw meat
  • Contains protein- and nutrient-rich liver

Cons

  • Not suitable for cats allergic or sensitive to beef

#3 TCfeline Special Formula Raw Diet Premix

TCFELINE - SPECIAL FORMULA

Buy on MyCatFoodStore

Formulated for cats with kidney and urinary issues, this special formula premix is made without freeze-dried bovine bone and gelatin. As such, it contains lower-than-average levels of phosphorus and calcium. The premix also contains supplemental B vitamins which are important for cats with kidney disease.

Because this premix is already fortified with a B vitamin complex and both vitamins A and D, it isn’t necessary to add raw liver. This formula is also uniquely suitable for use with cooked meats, as long as the premix is added to the meat after it’s been cooked and cooled. Cooking can destroy key nutrients but adding TCfeline premix after cooking helps ensure your cat’s needs for B vitamins, magnesium, taurine, and omega-3 fatty acids are met.

This recipe is only recommended for adult cats who require a low-phosphorus or low-calcium diet. It is not recommended for kittens and adolescent cats or pregnant and lactating female cats.

Ingredients

New Zealand Grass-Fed Whey Protein Isolate, Calcium Carbonate, Taurine, Canadian Freeze-Dried Krill, Feline Future B Complex (Choline L-Bitartrate, Niacin, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Methylcobalamin, Thiamine Mononitrate, Pyridoxine HCL, Riboflavin, Folic Acid, D-Biotin), Vitamin E Succinate, Vitamin D3, Vitamin A Palmitate (Retinol).

Ingredients We Liked Ingredients We Didn’t Like Common Allergens
Freeze-Dried Bovine Bone

Gelatin

Whey Protein Isolate

Freeze-Dried Krill

None Beef

Pork

Guaranteed Analysis (Per 20g)

Protein Fat Crude Fiber Moisture Ash
8.7mg 59mg 128mg 6.5% NA

Pros

  • Made with lower levels of phosphorus and calcium
  • Uniquely suitable for use with cooked meats
  • Dietary support for kidney and urinary tract issues

Cons

  • Not recommended for kittens or young cats
  • Only available in Canada

How Much Does TCfeline Cat Food Cost?

Though TCfeline costs over $3.00 per ounce, a 17-ounce package makes over 100 servings – about $0.53 per 0.15-ounce serving of premix. Using an average cost of about $3.99 per pound for boneless, skinless chicken breast, it would cost about $1.14 to prepare a single serving of TCfeline without egg yolks.

The daily cost to feed the average 10-pound cat raw food prepared with TCfeline will vary depending on the type of protein you use. You should expect to pay between $2 and $5 per day. This puts TCfeline in a similar price range to premade raw brands like Raw Paws and Darwin’s Natural.

Overall, Is TCfeline Cat Food a Good Choice?

Feline nutrition experts tend to agree that a raw food diet is one of the most species-appropriate choices for cats and premixes like TCfeline make it easy to make homemade cat food. TCfeline contains the essential amino acids, minerals, and vitamins your cat needs to supplement the nutrients in whatever raw meat you use it with.

Though it certainly takes more time and effort to prepare homemade cat food than to portion out a scoop of kibble, the benefits for your cat are significant. As noted by Natascha Wille on the Feline Future Cat Food Company website, a raw diet may help regulate your cat’s digestion, improve hydration, reduce hairballs, and encourage lean muscle development.

If you’re considering raw or homemade cat food, TCfeline premixes are an excellent option. Depending on what protein you use, the daily cost is comparable to feeding premade raw diets but you have the ability to control exactly what goes into your cat’s food. It’s also easy to create a rotational feeding plan with TCfeline premix.

Where Is TCfeline Cat Food Sold?

TCfeline premixes are available in both the United States and Canada, though they are made by two different manufacturers.

In Canada, you can purchase TCfeline directly from the Feline Future Cat Food Company. In the United States, TCfeline is sold by The Total Cat Store on Amazon and Etsy.com

Note: The values in our nutrient charts are automatically calculated based on the guaranteed analysis and may not represent typical nutrient values. This may lead to discrepancies between the charts and the values mentioned in the body of the review.
Help us do better! Was this article helpful and relevant?
Yes
No
What can you say about this article?
I am completely satisfied, I found useful information and tips in this article
Article was somewhat helpful, but could be improved
Want to share more?
Thank You for the feedback! We work to make the world a better place for cats, and we're getting better for you.
kate

About Kate Barrington

Kate Barrington is a writer with over twelve years of experience in the pet industry. She is an NAVC-certified Pet Nutrition Coach and has completed coursework in therapeutic nutrition, raw feeding, and the formulation of homemade diets for pets at an accredited university. Kate enjoys cooking, reading, and doing DIY projects around the house. She has three cats, Bagel, Munchkin, and Biscuit.

4 thoughts on “TCfeline Cat Food Review”

+ Add Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. Joseph Stooksberry

    Great review! Any info available on making our own premix using human grade ingredients?? It would be pricey at 1st but sure would be economical long term. I think I came across a recipe for one at some point but one can’t trust everything on the internet but there has to be a good one out there. Thank you for your hard work! 😀

    Reply
  2. Debra McFadden

    The whey protein CONCENTRATE is more likely to cause issues with lactose intolernace vs. a similar premiX, KnowBetter, which includes a more refined whey protein ISOLATE , with less lactose, thus . with less liklihoof of causing adverse health issues in this regard.

    Reply
    1. Maria

      TCfeline also uses whey protein isolate as well. Please look here: https://thetotalcat.com/product_detail.php?ProductID=500. Know Better is only meant for intermittent feeding only. There are some concerns about the ingredients and potential nutritional deficiencies, so it can’t be a main source of nutrition. The full nutritional analysis doesn’t have nearly as much calcium, taurine, etc as TCfeline.

      Reply